This page provides resources related to Architecture and Design.
The art of building in which human requirements and construction materials are related so as to furnish practical use as well as an aesthetic solution, thus differing from the pure utility of engineering construction. (From Credo Reference: Architecture)
The “fitting-in” of a building with surrounding buildings so that it is in harmony with them, especially in terms of scale, form, mass, and color. (From Credo Reference: Contextualism)
The design of mass-produced consumer products. Industrial designers, often trained as architects or other visual arts professionals, are usually part of a larger creative team. Their primary responsibility is to help produce manufactured items that not only work well but please the eye and, therefore, have a competitive advantage over similar products. (From Encyclopedia Britannica: Industrial Design)
The planning and design of man-made spaces, a part of environmental design and closely related to architecture. Although the desire to create a pleasant environment is as old as civilization itself, the field of interior design is relatively new. (From Encyclopedia Britannica: Interior Design)
The development and decorative planting of gardens, yards, grounds, parks, and other types of areas. Garden and landscape design is used to enhance the settings for buildings and public areas and in recreational areas and parks. It is one of the decorative arts and is allied to architecture, city planning, and horticulture. (From Encyclopedia Britannica: Garden and Landscape Design)
Gestalt psychology, school of psychology founded in the 20th century that provided the foundation for the modern study of perception. Gestalt theory emphasizes that the whole of anything is greater than its parts. That is, the attributes of the whole are not deducible from analysis of the parts in isolation. The word Gestalt is used in modern German to mean the way a thing has been “placed,” or “put together.” There is no exact equivalent in English. “Form” and “shape” are the usual translations; in psychology the word is often interpreted as “pattern” or “configuration.” (From Encyclopedia Britannica: Gestalt psychology)
The art and profession of selecting and arranging visual elements—such as typography, images, symbols, and colours—to convey a message to an audience. Sometimes graphic design is called “visual communications,” a term that emphasizes its function of giving form—e.g., the design of a book, advertisement, logo, or Web site—to information. (From Encyclopedia Britannica: Graphic Design)
The American Institute of Architects (AIA): is the leading professional membership organization for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners. The AIA serves its members through advocacy, information, and community.
The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS): is an independent, nonprofit, student-run organization dedicated to advancing leadership, design, and service among architecture students.
Cities and Buildings Collection: Over 5000 architectural images maintained by the architecture department at the University of Washington.
Digital Archives of American Architecture: 1,500 digitized images of American Architecture, styles and descriptions. From Boston College.
The U.S. Green Building Council: is the nation's foremost coalition of leaders from across the building industry working to promote buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work.
Dexigner: Founded in 2001 in New York, Dexigner is a leading website for designers and creatives, publishing design news, events, competitions, and resources.
The Institute for Human Centered Design (IHCD): Founded in Boston in 1978 as Adaptive Environments, is an international non-governmental educational organization (NGO) committed to advancing the role of design in expanding opportunity and enhancing experience for people of all ages and abilities through excellence in design.
The International Interior Design Association (IIDA): The International Interior Design Association (IIDA) is a professional networking and educational association of more than 10,000 Members in 8 specialty Forums, 9 Regions, and more than 30 Chapters around the world committed to enhancing the quality of life through excellence in interior design and advancing interior design through knowledge.
Society for Experiential Graphic Design: Society for Experiential Graphic Design is a global, multidisciplinary community of professionals who plan, design, and build experiences that connect people to place.
The Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA): The Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA) is an international not-for-profit organization dedicated to the promotion, study, and support of type, its history and development, its use in the world of print and digital imagery, its designers, and its admirers.
| All Content CC-BY. |
|
