SVC Library: ELA Guide: For Faculty

What is this page for?

SVC Library Databases are accessible through the library website and from home with current SVC username and password.

Credo Reference Database
Online encyclopedia source, including Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century. Good source for images and graphics. Log in from home using MYSVC login & password.
CultureGrams
Information on countries around the world, including history, customs and cultural traditions. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
Enciclopedia Universal en Español
Encyclopedia in Spanish. Enciclopedia en Español. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
Learning Express (PrepStep)
Test prep and skills practice for Core Math and English Skills, college success, High School equivalency, and career preparation. among others

Many of the SVC Library resources offer read aloud options, captioning for video, and/or language translation features. A few are listed below:

Academic Search Complete: Provides text-reading. Language translation.
Credo Reference: Provides text-reading. Language translation.
CultureGrams - Provides text-reading.
Encyclopedia Britannica - Videos have captioning.
Enciclopedia Universal en Español - Encyclopedia in Spanish. Enciclopedia en Español.
Environment Complete - Text-reading. Language translation.
ERIC: Provides text-reading. Language translation.
Facts on File Issues & Controversies: Videos have captioning. Some "audio" segments.
Films on Demand: Provides captions.
Gale Virtual Reference: "Listen" feature reads the articles and highlights words Language translation
Learning Express (PrepStep): This is a Best Bet! Practice for core math and English skills as well as a module for Spanish speakers.
ProQuest: Provides text-reading.
Science Direct: Provides text for videos explain what is being shown, not captions.

CAELA Network Professional development resources and information for ESL teachers
Kenneth Beare, experienced ESL teacher and guide to the English as 2nd Language section of About.com, is the author of this blog. In it he provides ideas and materials for teachers, along with information on language and culture.
Larry Ferlazzo His blog posts useful websites for ESL teachers
Open Oregon Educationl Resources: ESOL
USA Learns
TOEFL Prep Kit
Resources for Multilingual Students From the NEA

English Teaching Forum
Published quarterly by the U.S. Department of State and distributed in over 125 countries, this refereed journal focuses on current theory and practice in English language teaching. Articles from issues back to 1993 are available on this site. English Teaching Forum also has a Facebook Page.
Language Magazine
Language Magazine presents ESL and bilingual research, reviews language-learning software, and offers practical teaching advice. It also features JobShop, a list of language teaching jobs in the United States. In addition to the current issue, several years of back issues are accessible on this site.
TESL-EJ: The Electronic Journal for English as a Second Language
TESL-EJ is a refereed electronic journal published quarterly. Articles cover ESL / EFL pedagogy, second language acquisition, language assessment, applied socio- and psycholinguistics, and related areas. Past issues are available online.
Topics: Online Magazine for Learners of English
Topics gives learners of English the opportunity to write about a variety of subjects, such as globalization, foods, festivals, dances, superstitions and proverbs. The magazine also includes a description of class projects from around the world. Back issues are available on the Topics web site.