[JOURNAL ARTICLE] Azali, K. (2016). Cashless in Indonesia: Gelling Mobile E-frictions? Journal of Southeast Asian Economies, 33(3), 364-386. https://doi.org/10.1355/ae33-3e
Kathleen Azali works in Singapore as a Research Associate at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. This article explains the current state of commerce in Indonesia, and how the idea of “gelling” existing platforms, having current companies allow for interoperability between their platforms, may be better than creating a new centralized banking system.
[INTERNET WEBSITE] Buchholz, K. (2022, January 21). This chart shows how preferred methods of payment differ around the world. World Economic Forum. https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2021/01/this-chart-shows-cash-cashless-finance-payment-methods-global-preference/
Katharina Buchholz is a data journalist at Statista, a global data and business intelligence platform, established in Germany in 2007. This article provides statistics and data on the preference for cashless payments in various countries around the world.
[ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLE] Duignan, B. (2023, June 16). What Is a Cashless Society and How Does It Work?. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/story/what-is-a-cashless-society-and-how-does-it-work
Brian Duignan is a senior editor at Encylopaedia Britannica in the subject areas of philosophy, law, social science, politics, political theory, and religion. This article is an encyclopedia entry about how a cashless economy works, the basics.
[INTERNET WEBSITE] Faverio, M. (2022, October 5). More Americans are joining the ‘cashless’ economy. Pew Research Center. Retrieved January 30, 2024, from https://www.pewresearch.org/short-reads/2022/10/05/more-americans-are-joining-the-cashless-economy/
Michelle Faverio is a research analyst at Pew Research Center, focusing on internet and technology. Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. This article provides statistics and data, as well as analysis, on the rise of Americans going cashless.
[ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLE] Geisst, C. R. (2005). credit cards. Encyclopedia of American Business History.
Charles R. Geisst is an author and Professor of Finance at Manhattan College. This is an encyclopedia article about the history of credit cards and societies transition to them from only cash.
[JOURNAL ARTICLE] Guha, S. K., & Gupta, A. (2023). Cashless economy and the unified payments interface: India’s digital tryst with financial inclusion. Fletcher Forum, 47(2).
Shouvik Kumar Guha is an associate professor of law and technology, and assistant director of the Centre for Law & Technology, at the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS) in Kolkata, India. Aman Gupta is an assistant professor of law and technology at the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences in Kolkata, India. This article explains how India has pushed for a cashless economy and uses a “unified payment interface”. The authors argue that this system has worked well for India and could be a model for other developing countries.
[PROQUEST DATABASE NEWSPAPER ARTICLE] Pothier, M. (2014, Mar 16). Bitcoin, credit cards, and the rise of a cashless economy: The world is moving on. It's time we embrace change. Boston Globe https://skagit.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/bitcoin-credit-cards-rise-cashless-economy/docview/1507641419
Mark Pothier is an editor at the Boston Globe covering life sciences and real estate development. This article provides an argument for a cashless economy and goes over the problems of cash while conceding there are some advantages we’d be losing.
[JOURNAL ARTICLE] Raya, J. M., & Vargas, C. (2022). How to become a cashless economy and what are the determinants of eliminating cash. Journal of Applied Economics, 25(1), 543–562. https://doi.org/10.1080/15140326.2022.2052000
Josep Maria Raya has a PhD in Economics and is a professor of the Tecnocampus at Universität Pompeu Fabra. Claudia Vargas has a Double Degree in Marketing and Business and works as an analyst. This article explains cashless economies, including identifying places that are closer than others. It also uses the Spanish Survey of Household Finances for identify factors of credit card use and detriments of becoming a cashless society.
[INTERNET WEBSITE] Stanley, J. (2023, February 27). Say no to the “Cashless future” — and to cashless stores | ACLU. American Civil Liberties Union. https://www.aclu.org/news/privacy-technology/say-no-cashless-future-and-cashless-stores
Jay Stanley is a senior policy analyst with the ACLU Speech, Privacy, and Technology Project. This article is very against a cashless economy and goes over many negative aspects of it.
[GALE DATABASE JOURNAL ARTICLE] Unified Payment Interface. (2016, October 1). India Business Journal. https://link-gale-com.skagit.idm.oclc.org/apps/doc/A465473300/PPBE?u=moun28208&sid=bookmark-PPBE&xid=d046ab8b
The India Business Journal is a trade journal and one of the leading business magazines in India. This article provides more information on India’s Unified Payment Interface. It also explains how the UPI differs from other methods of electronic payments.
| All Content CC-BY. |
|
