Student Research Guide WQ24/ Tablets and Effects on Kids

Alghamdi, Yasser. “(PDF) Negative Effects of Technology on Children of Today.” Negative Effects of Technology on Children of Today, www.researchgate.net/publication/318851694_Negative_Effects_of_Technology_on_Children_of_Today. 

• This source provides information about how technology and tablets are effecting kids mentally and physically. It goes in depth about how using tablets for long periods of time as young children can lead to a domino effect. The mental, physical, and social concerns are all connected and affect each other as well.  

Alton, J. (2021, March 19). Toddlers and technology: What parents need to know about raising children in the generation of Tech. The Daily Universe. https://universe.byu.edu/2019/07/12/toddlers-and-technology-what-parents-need-to-know-about-raising-children-in-the-generation-of-tech/ 

• This article has been published by BYU and is an educational resource. This article dissects common parenting techniques in today’s society. It features real life experiences and examples from parents who raise their children with lots of exposure to technology and those with minimal exposure to technology.

Auxier, B. (2020, July 28). Parenting children in the age of screens. Pew Research Center: Internet, Science & Tech. https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2020/07/28/parenting-children-in-the-age-of-screens/ 

• This source provides statistics and information regarding how parents are using technology to raise tech savvy kids. It gives insight to the parent's ideas and reasoning for exposing their kids to these mediums. It also explains how parenting has changed since the age of technology.

Bhasin, H. (2024, January 20). Marketing mix of Ipad and 4Ps (updated 2023). Marketing91. https://www.marketing91.com/marketing-mix-of-ipad/ 

• This source deep dives into Apple and their marketing strategies. It provides insider information about the iPad, its features, and its target market. Understanding the information presented here can explain why the younger generation is so influenced by tablets and why so many have them.

Hendy, E. (2023, November 21). IPad kids are getting out of hand. VICE. https://www.vice.com/en/article/93k8kv/ipad-kids-gen-alpha-childhood-development 

• This source has real life examples and experiences. This article talks about the behavior problems that come with raising tech savvy kids in today’s world. It provides case studies about how tablet usage for kids under 5 has altered how they function physically and mentally.

Timesofindia.com. “Millennial vs Boomer Parenting Styles: Which One Is Better?” The Times of India, Times of India, 16 Nov. 2023, timesofindia.indiatimes.com/life-style/parenting/moments/millennial-vs-boomer-parenting-styles-which-one-is-better/photostory/105259213.cms. 

• This article explains the differing parenting styles between Millennials and Boomers. This gives insight about how kids these days are raised, and how this correlates to behavior problems. It also gives information about how parenting styles have changed in the last 20 years.

Mostafavi, Beata. “Frequently Using Digital Devices to Soothe Young Children May Backfire.” [Home], 12 Dec. 2022, www.michiganmedicine.org/health-lab/frequently-using-digital-devices-soothe-young-children-may-backfire. 

• This article provides insight to a trend in modern day parenting. That is, giving kids devices to soothe them. It gives evidence as to why this is becoming a trend, the logic behind it, and how it might backfire in the future.

Pearcy, Aimee. “Meet Gen Alpha, the ‘mini-Millennials’ Who Are Poised to Take over the Internet.” Business Insider, Business Insider, www.businessinsider.com/gen-alpha-explained-technology-views-mental-health-2023-10. 

• This article explains who Gen-Alpha are, what kinds of influences they already have, and what the future might look with them in charge. It is written with the fate of the future in mind, and provides real life possibilities about how the exposure to technology will effect children in the long run.

Richter, F. (2021, April 14). Infographic: Pandemic reignites tablet market growth. Statista Daily Data. https://www.statista.com/chart/8158/global-tablet-shipments/ 

• This article provides statistical information about increased tablet purchases following the pandemic. It provides insight as to who is buying them and how many are being bought. This article explains the next "boom" of tablets and market growth information.

Young, S. R., Novack, M. A., Dworak, E. M., Kaat, A. J., Hossienian, Z., & Gershon, R. M. (2024, January 13). Society for Research in Child Development - Wiley Online Library. Society for Research in Child Development. https://srcd.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/cdev.13326

• This article explains how learning games can help kids develop and recognize shapes. It details a study on the development of kids and how tablet games can help them learn. It provides insight as to how some exposure to tablets can be beneficial to kids, as long as it is the right amount and type.

1. "Kids" and "Tablets"
2. "Gen Alpha"
3. "Toddlers" and "Technology"
4. "iPads"
5. "Society" and "Children"