Biology 160 - B. Brady

This page provides resources and information on how to use other SVC Libraries' Databases.

Library Databases are the most efficient and fastest way to find in-depth, credible articles for your research.

In them, you can find:

• Online articles from a wide variety of sources (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.) and covering a variety of subjects that are mostly full-text and are searchable using keywords and search terms.
• Tools so you can find citations for an article, use filters to search for specific date ranges, limit by source type, or locate peer-reviewed or scholarly articles more easily.

REMEMBER: Databases are NOT Internet sources. They require "authentication". In other words, they are accessible to current SVC students only. To access the SVC databases, enter your MySVC/ email/ Canvas username and password to use them.

To search the Skagit Valley College Library Databases:

1. Start from the library homepage.
2. Select the Databases option or choose Database A-Z List.
3. From off-campus, you will be prompted for your login and password.  Enter your mysvc/Canvas login (email address) and password.  
   • Example:  Login:  Jane.Doe1234@mysvc.skagit.edu

For help with searching more specific databases, See Library Tutorials and How-to Videos.

1. CHOOSE A TOPIC: Choose something that is suits the needs of the assignment and is researchable!

2. PREPARE YOUR SEARCH: Make a list of keywords or search terms.

3. CHOOSE A DATABASE: You may choose a general database like Academic Search Complete or Proquest or check out our full list of databases to choose one.

 4. KEEP YOUR FIRST SEARCHES SIMPLE: Try using 1 keyword first, before trying the Boolean connectors: AND, OR, or NOT to combine 2 or more concepts.

5. REVIEW YOUR RESULTS

• Too many records? Consider changing your terms or narrow your topic to something more specific, for example:
  • Instead of "dogs" try "service dogs"
  • Try a specific group (like "young adults")
  • Try a certain geographical location (like "United States")
  • Try a specific date range (like "2015-2020")
• Too few records? Try synonyms, fewer keywords, or broader terms. Use OR between terms to expand the search, for example:
  • Instead of "service canines that help with post traumatic stress syndrome", try "service dogs" AND PTSD OR trauma

6. GET THE ARTICLE: Make sure you can locate full-text articles (pdf or html format) then email, download or print

7. CHECK THE CITATION: Almost all of the databases have a tools that will provide a citation in any format for an article. Look to right side for a "cite" button.

8. LOOK AGAIN: If you aren't finding what you need, or if you are feeling confident and want to keep going, try looking at other databases or in other sources.

Listed below are a few of the most relevant databases for Biology 160:

• Biomedical Reference Center
  • Full-text articles and references related to the biomedical fields
• Coronavirus Research Database
  • A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
• Environment Complete
  • Scholarly journal database focusing on environmental topics.
• GreenFile
  • Ebscohost collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
• Science Direct
  • Database for science journals. The link is for an advanced search in journals. Be sure and select SUBSCRIBED SOURCES so you get free full text. SVC subscribes to Physical Sciences and Nursing and Health.
• Science Reference Center
  • Hundreds of reference books on applied, earth, life, and physical sciences. Includes biographies of scientists.