Skip to Main Content
Works Cited
- SCHOLARLY ARTICLE: Bhandarkar, Ajay M., et al. “Impact of Social Media on the Academic Performance of Undergraduate Medical Students.” Medical Journal, Armed Forces India, vol. 77, 2 Feb. 2021, Suppl 1: S37-S41, doi:10.1016/j.mjafi.2020.10.021.
- This article was published by the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library. This source was useful because it gave me important information about academic distraction, which can decrease academic performance in school.
- ISSUES AND CONTROVERSIES DATABASE: “By the Numbers: Social Media and Mental Health.” Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 24 June 2024, https://icof.infobase.com/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6MTY4Mzg=?aid=102912.
- This scholarly article was published by Infobase, a reliable American publisher of databases, reference book titles, and textbooks. This source was beneficial to my research because it helped provide me with information about body distortion and eating disorders.
- OPEN SOURCE PDF: Christensen, Spencer Palmer. “Social Media Use and Its Impact on Relationships and Emotions.” Scholars Archives, Scholars Archives, 1 June 2018, scholarsarchive.byu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=7927&context=etd.
- This document is a graduate thesis hosted by Scholars Archives, a respected institutional repository managed by Brigham Young University. This source provides a direct look at the emotional and relational consequences of social media. It gave me insight about interpersonal relationships and how they are affected by over usage of social media.
- INTERNET WEBSITE: Hampton, Keith., et al. “Psychological Stress and Social Media Use.” Pew Research Center, Pew Research Center,15 Jan. 2015, www.pewresearch.org/internet/2015/01/15/psychological-stress-and-social-media-use-2/.
- This information came from the Pew Research Center, a trusted research organization known for its unbiased, large-scale surveys. This source is important for my research because it provides data on how social media use correlates with increased stress and anxiety.
- ACAMDEIC SEARCH COMPETE DATABASE: Hwang, Sung Ha, and Cho Jaehee. “Why Instagram? Intention to Continue Using Instagram Among Korean College Students.” Social Behavior & Personality: An International Journal, vol. 46, no. 8, Sept. 2018, pp. 1305–16. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.skagit.idm.oclc.org/10.2224/sbp.6961.
- This article is published in Social Behavior & Personality, a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on social science research. The source is important for my research because it explores why individuals, particularly young adults, continue using Instagram. This source is helpful to understand the positive sides of Instagram.
- INTERNET WEBSITE: Jacobson, Rae. “Social Media and Self-Doubt.” Child Mind Institute, Child Mind Institute, 14 Jan. 2025, childmind.org/article/social-media-and-self-doubt/.
- This article was published by the Child Mind Institute, a nonprofit organization that focuses on children's mental health and has a reputation for providing expert-reviewed content. This source is valuable to my research since it explains how social media creates feelings of self-doubt among adolescents. This significant mental health issue directly ties into the research on how social media impacts self-esteem and body image.
- SCHOLARLY ARTICLE: Lewis, Robert G., et al. “The Brain's Reward System in Health and Disease.” Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, vol. 1344, 2021, pp. 57-69, doi:10.1007/978-3-030-81147-1_4.
- This scholarly article was published in Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, a peer-reviewed scientific journal, and authored by experts in neuroscience. The article explores the brain's reward system, providing insights into how stimuli affect brain function. This source is important to my research as it gives me an understanding on how addiction, including to social media, affects mental health.
- SCHOLARLY ARTICLE: Lin, Liu Yi., et al. “Association Between Social Media Use and Depression Among U.S. Young Adults.” Depression and Anxiety, vol. 33,4, 19 Jan. 2016, pp. 323-31, doi:10.1002/da.22466.
- This article was published in Depression and Anxiety, a respected peer-reviewed journal focusing on mental health. It presents a study linking social media use with depression in young adults. This article is helpful to my research as it addresses the psychological effects of social media use, specifically its link to depression in young adults.
- SCHOLARLY ARTICLE: Lukoševičiūtė-Barauskienė, Justė, et al. “Adolescent Perception of Mental Health: It's Not Only about Oneself, It's about Others Too.” Children, vol. 10, no.7, 25 June 2023, p. 1109, doi:10.3390/children10071109.
- This article is published in Children, a peer-reviewed journal that focuses on child development and mental health. The study was conducted by experts in adolescent psychology, making the source credible for academic research. This source is important for my study because it helps me understand the correlation between increased mental health and brain development in adolescents.
- INTERNET WEBSITE: McClain, Colleen. “The Internet and the Pandemic.” Pew Research Center, Pew Research Center, 1 Sept. 2021, www.pewresearch.org/internet/2021/09/01/the-internet-and-the-pandemic/.
- This article is from Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan organization with a high reputation. The article is essential to my research because it provides an analysis about how internet use, including social media, has evolved during and after the pandemic.
- INTERNET WEBSITE: Nussenbaum, Tessa. “Social Media Causes Attention Spans to Drop.” The Standard, American School in London, 14 Dec. 2023, standard.asl.org/27705/uncategorized/social-media-causes-attention-spans-to-drop/.
- This article was published by The Standard, the student-run news publication of the American School in London, which is known for producing thoughtful and well-researched pieces. The article is important for my research because it links social media use to cognitive issues like reduced attention span, which is a significant concern in the context of mental health.
- ISSUES AND CONTROVERSIES DATABASE: “Social Media and Mental Health.” Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 24 June 2024, https://icof.infobase.com/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6MTYyNTU=?aid=102912.
- This article is from Issues & Controversies, a well-established database from Infobase, known for presenting balanced, research-backed discussions on contemporary issues. This source was useful to my research because it provides multiple perspectives on the social media and mental health debate. It also helped me understand more about body image and eating disorders.
- OPEN SOURCE PDF: Studvick, Samantha. “A Warped Teenage Brain: The Impact of Technology in the Classroom.” Duquesne Scholarship Collection, Duquesne Scholarship Collection, Jan. 2013, dsc.duq.edu/first-class/vol2014/iss1/10/?utm_source=dsc.duq.edu%2Ffirst-class%2Fvol2014%2Fiss1%2F10&utm_medium=PDF&utm_campaign=PDFCoverPages.
- This open-source article was published in the Duquesne Scholarship Collection, an academic resource from Duquesne University. The article examines research about the effects of technology on teenage cognitive development. This source is important for my research because it explains how technology (including social media) impacts brain development. It also expands on how impacted brain development can alter other key functions of the brain.
Top 5-10 Recommended Keywords/Search Terms on the Topic
- "Instagram" AND "Mental Health"
- "Instagram" AND "Adolescents"
- "Teenagers" AND "Brain Development"
- "Social Media" AND "Self-esteem"
- "Instagram" AND "Anxiety"
- Instagram
- "Mental Health"
