Student Research Guide WQ25/ Integration of AI Powered Tools and Effects on Higher Education

• This Ebook teaches the underlying concepts of large language models (LLMs), as well as the technologies associated with them. It delves into misconceptions and concerns about LLMs, as well as how to best utilize them.

Ebook: Baker, Pam. ChatGPT ^TM for Dummies. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2023.

• This Ebook explains how ChatGPT works and how you can operate it in a way that yields satisfactory results. It explains how this AI-powered tool is predicted to change education.

• It also explores the ethics of using AI-generated content for various purposes.

Ebook: Chan, C.K.Y., & T. Colloton. Generative AI in Higher Education: The ChatGPT Effect 1^st ed., Routledge, 2024

• The book explores the necessity of AI literacy tailored to professional contexts, assess the strengths and weaknesses of incorporating ChatGPT in curriculum design.

• This was a great source to provide a comprehensive examination of the use and impact of ChatGPT and Generative AI (GenAI) in higher education.

Internet website: Copeland, B.J. "Artificial Intelligence.” Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 Feb. 2025.

• This provides a definition to explain what "artificial intelligence" is.

Internet website: Copeland, B.J. "History of Artificial Intelligence (AI)". Encyclopedia Britannica, 7 Feb. 2025.

• This source provides historical information dating back to the 1930's.

Internet website: “Generative AI.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster.

• This source gives a definition to explain what "generative AI" is.

Report: Luckin, Rose, and Wayne Holmes. Intelligence Unleashed: An argument for AI in education. UCL Knowledge Lab, 2016.

• This paper on artificial intelligence in education (AIEd) explains what AIEd can offer teaching and learning, both now and in the future.

• This source touches on AIEd tools that could support student learning at a scale previously unimaginable by providing one-on-one tutoring to every student, in every subject.

Academic article: Malik, Nikita, and Menal Dahiya. “Interacting with Chat GPT: Impact on Students and Teaching-Learning.” Sigma: Journal of Engineering & Natural Sciences, vol. 42, no. 6, Dec. 2024, p. 1736–48. EBSCOhost.

• This article includes an interview with ChatGPT, which highlights the potential benefits and threats of using this technology by students and for the purpose of teaching-learning and in academia.

• This paper presents a discussion of ChatGPT, an AI-powered chatbot developed by OpenAI, and the technology behind it. This work provides a brief history of the Generative Pre-trained Transformer (GPT) model, which is the backbone of ChatGPT

Ebook: Shah, Priten. AI and the Future of Education: Teaching in the Age of Artificial Intelligence. 1^st ed., John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2023.

• This book provides information how AI should be used as a tool to leverage, not a threat to teaching and learning. 

• It provides insight on how to discover strategies for engaging students more fully using AI. The book provides information on how to automate administrative tasks, grading and feedback.

Internet website: The Editors of Encyclopedia Britannica. "John McCarthy". Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 Oct. 2024.

• This website provides bibliographic information on John McCarthy and his role he played in the early years of AI.