Works Cited
INTERNET WEBSITE: “Aryan.” United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 29 Sep. 2020, https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/aryan-1.
- This source was useful to my research by defining what Adolf Hitler meant when he said he wanted to create an "Aryan Society". The authors and contributors are all reputable Holocaust academics and scholars.
FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE: “FDA Approves First Gene Therapies to Treat Patients with Sickle Cell Disease.” Federal Drug Administration, 8 Dec. 2023, www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-first-gene-therapies-treat-patients-sickle-cell-disease.
- The FDA is responsible for protecting and promoting public health via control and supervision of food safety. This article is an official press release from the Food and Drug Administration, stating that a gene therapy is approved for patients with sickle cell disease.
INTERNET WEBSITE: “Federal Law Prohibits the Use of Federal Funds for Research on Human Germline Gene Therapy.” Global Gene Editing Regulation Tracker, 23 July 2019, https://crispr-gene-editing-regs-tracker.geneticliteracyproject.org/united-states-embryonic-germline-gene-editing/#:~:text=Federal%20law%20prohibits%20the%20use,restrictions%20regarding%20human%20genetic%20engineering.
- This source tracks the regulations around gene editing. This source was useful because it talked about the laws that are to be in place around germline editing and human genetic engineering.
GOVERNMENT BILL: Feinstein, Dianne, et al. “A Resolution Calling for International Ethical Standards In Genome Editing Research” GovTrack Tracking the US Congress, 15 July 2019, https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/116/sres275/text.
- This source collects data on members of congress, sharing the data with users with the idea to promote transparency in the government. This source has a bill about ethical standards in genome editing research. This source was helpful to my research because it covers the court case around human genetic engineering and germline editing.
YOUTUBE VIDEO: “How Base Editing Works.” Youtube uploaded by Boston Children’s Hospital, 8 Dec. 2021, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0W-_BmrdH-M.
- This Youtube video was helpful to my research because it defined the technology of "CRISPR Cas9", and how this technology is used in science. This video was uploaded by "Boston Children's Hospital", ranked as the #1 best children's hospital in the United States.
PEER REVIEWED EBOOK: “Human Genome Editing.” The National Academies Press, 14 Feb. 2017, doi: https://doi.org/10.17226/24623.
- The National Academies reports are peer reviewed, providing independent, objective, and nonpartisan advice with high standards of technical and scientific quality. This source argues that clinical research with germline editing in humans should be permitted.
UNITED STATES HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL MUSEUM DATABASE: “Laws and Decrees.” United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 15 Apr. 2020, https://www.ushmm.org/m/pdfs/USHMM-Timeline-Activity-Laws-Decrees.pdf.
- The United States official memorial to the Holocaust, this was helpful because it defined the laws that the German government put in place while Hitler was in control, giving me the exact date of the law to sterilize people with diseases and disorders and ban them from reproducing. The authors and contributors are all reputable Holocaust academics and scholars.
PROQUEST DATABASE: Lederer, Susan E. "The Challenges of Challenge Experiments." The New England Journal of Medicine, 21 Aug. 2014, ProQuest, skagit.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/challenges-challenge-experiments/docview/1555299037/se-2 , doi:https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMp1408554.
- This is a scholarly journal published by the New England Journal of Medicine. Susan Lederer graduated from the John Hopkins University in 1987, and works as an American Historian at the University of Wisconsin. This journal was helpful to my research because it spoke about the beginnings of the smallpox vaccine, a massive advancement in personalized medicine.
PEER REVIEWED JOURNAL: Normile, Dennis. “Chinese Scientist Who Produced Genetically Altered Babies Sentenced to 3 Years In Jail.” American Association for the Advancement of Science, 30 Dec. 2019, https://www.science.org/content/article/chinese-scientist-who-produced-genetically-altered-babies-sentenced-3-years-jail.
- This scholarly website is a peer-reviewed academic journal, a leading platform for scientific news, cutting edge research, and commentary. Dennis Normile studied at Villanova University, and is a contributor for Science magazine. This source was useful to me because it talked about He Jiankiu, the first person to germline edit humans. This source covered how Jiankiu proceeded with his experiment and the repercussions he faced after germline editing humans
INTERNET WEBSITE: “Press Clipping With a Helen Keller Article on the Red Cross.” Helen Keller Archive, 9 Jan. 2017 www.afb.org/HelenKellerArchive?a=d&d=A-HK02-B229-F08-005.1.1&srpos=1&e=-------en-20--1--txt--%22The+human+being+is+born+with+an+incurable+capacity+for+making+the+best+of+things%22------3-7-6-5-3--------------0-1.
- This source has the largest amount of letters, speeches, scrapbooks, press clippings, photographs, and more, relating to Helen Keller. This source provided an inspiring quote from Helen Keller about the indomitable human spirit, contributing to my research conclusion.
PUBMED DATABASE: Rubeis, G. and Steger, F. “Risks and Benefits of Human Germline Genome Editing: An Ethical Analysis.” Asian Bioethics Review. vol. 10, no 2, 2018, pp. 133-141, doi: 10.1007/s41649-018-0056-x. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC7747319/.
-
Asian Bioethics Review is an international academic journal, based in Asia. Rubeis studied in Vienna and obtained his doctorate in Tübigen, he was later offered to establish his own division at Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences. Steger, PhD at the Ruhr-University Bochum, is a German medical historian and ethicist. This source helped me take note of the class gap and how it might be affected by human gene editing.
FDA PUBLICATION: “Science and History of GMOs and Other Food Modification Processes.” US Food and Drug Administration, 5 Sep. 2024, https://www.fda.gov/food/agricultural biotechnology/science-and-history-gmos-and-other-food-modification-processes#:~:text=1973%3A%20Biochemists%20Herbert%20Boyer%20and,human%20insulin%20to%20treat%20diabetes.
- The FDA provides peer-reviewed articles. This website was helpful to me because it defined the beginning of genetic engineering and the creation of synthetic insulin, that being the first uses of genetic engineering.
PEER REVIEWED MEDICAL JOURNAL: Shattock, Andrew J., et al. “Contribution of Vaccination to Improved Survival and Health: Modelling 50 Years of the Expanded Programme on Immunization.” The Lancet, 2 May 2024, www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(24)00850-X/fulltext.
- The Lancet is a peer-reviewed general medical journal, one of the world's highest-impact academic journals, and one of the oldest of its kind. Shattock has a PhD from the University of New South Wales, a Master’s from the University of Warwick, and a Bachelor’s from the University of Reading, UK. This article stated that over 150 million lives have been saved due to vaccination.
SPOTIFY PODCAST: Siciliano, Jennifer. "CRISPR, Germline Editing, and Market-Based Eugenics: A Glance at Modern-Day Science Ethics.” Not As Crazy As You Think Podcast, 31 Mar. 2021, https://open.spotify.com/episode/0VHc4wX4nx5ZRH9lW5juOk?si=265c05722d4a4c82.
- Sicilaino has Bachelor’s of Arts in both English and Secondary English Education. She works at Roosevelt High School in New York. This was a helpful source because it helped me understand all sides of this controversy. This podcast talked about personal reasons why to not continue this research and how it can be harmful to many people. This is not a scholarly source, rather a public opinion.
ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA: Svendsen, Clive, and Allison Ebert. "Rudolf Jaenisch." Encyclopedia Britannica, 9 May 2024, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Rudolf-Jaenisch.
- Svendsen did his predoctoral training at Harvard University, and received his PhD from the University of Cambridge in England. Ebert received a PhD at Northwestern University in Chicago, and a Bachelor’s in Arts from Indiana University. This website was helpful because it discusses the scientist who discovered genetic engineering and how he conducted his research. This article is peer-reviewed and fact-checked by The Editors of Britannica Encyclopedia.
PUBMED DATABASE: Tamura R, Toda M. “Historic Overview of Genetic Engineering Technologies for Human Gene Therapy”. Neurologia Medico-Chirurgica. 15 Oct. 2020. doi: 10.2176/nmc.ra.2020-0049. 2020 Sep 8. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC7555159/.
- Neurologia Medico-Chirurgica is an international, peer reviewed journal. Tamura works as an Assistant Professor at the School of Medicine, Keio University, Japan. He also received his PhD from Keio University. Toda has a PhD in Medicine from Keio University, and also works at Keio University as a Professor. This article was helpful because it highlighted examples of why scientists need to run tests on non-human subjects before testing on humans.
INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION: “Universal Declaration of Human Rights.” United Nations, Accessed 27, Mar. 2025, https://www.un.org/en/about-us/universal-declaration-of-human-rights.
- The United Nations is an international organization aimed to achieve international cooperation, maintain international peace and security and serve as a center for coordinating actions of member states. This declaration was helpful because it provided valid reasoning on why gene editing with the intention to modify oneself to enhance their capabilities would directly threaten the foundation of equality that holds society together.
