The study conducted in this article explores sex appeal in advertisements, and how sexualized images affect the viewer's decision in whether or not to support the organization behind the ads. Male viewers were less inclined to support the organization PETA after viewing the organization's ads that use the sexualized bodies of women as a key selling point.
Google Scholar source.
This documentary was produced by the University of Notre Dame. The documentary gives me information on the goals of marketers and the way ad agencies stretch the truth in advertising. Includes information from two marketing executives.
The authors are from the School for Mass Communication Research in Belgium. Body Image is a peer-reviewed, international scientific journal on the concept of body image. This article is on research done on the effects of “idealized” and “non-idealized” models in advertising. This provides me with more information on how consumers view ads, along with another issue with these ads (poorly represented body types).
Diedrichs has a PhD and is a professor of Psychology at the University of West England. Lee is a professor and public health psychologist, as well as the former Head of the School of Psychology at the University of Queensland. Women are usually the focus when it comes to body image in advertising, but this study investigates how different male body types impact the self-image of men.
UNICEF (United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund) focuses on advocating for the human rights of children and providing support for them. This brochure includes information about gender stereotypes, where they are found, how they impact children and adults, and ways to combat them. I like this source because it not only includes the main issues my research has focused on, but also provides some proposed solutions to these issues.
“Bo Florin is Professor of Cinema Studies at the Department for Media Studies, Stockholm University, Sweden. Patrick Vonderau is Professor of Media and Communication Studies at the University of Halle, Germany. Yvonne Zimmermann is Professor of Media Studies at Philipps-University Marburg, Germany” (Florin, back cover). This article dives into everything advertisements, from where they’re displayed, to their history, to how advertisements mirror the temperature of society at the time they’re made.
This was a thesis written by two students at Lund University. The students interviewed and surveyed consumer groups and analyzed how companies use sexual objectification in their advertisements. Includes some good information on the history of more modern advertisements and social movements.
While straying away a little from my core topics, I liked this source because it provides a different perspective as to why diversity in advertising can be advantageous. The study conducted in this article shows that diversity in advertisements can give the viewer the impression that the brand provides more variety in their products than brands that cast only one type of person in their ads. This leads the viewer to believe that the brands with more diversity in their ads are better suited to fit their needs due to this perceived variety. I also thought it was cool how recent this article is. This article comes from the Journal of Consumer Research.
Academic Search Complete database scholarly article.
Jean Kilbourne is an activist, writer, and public speaker. Her documentary series, Killing Us Softly, focuses on how advertisements objectify and exploit women, and how this impacts their self-esteem. Killing Us Softly 4 is the newest installment, which came out in 2010. In this video, Kilbourne discusses the wide reach of advertisements and reflects on how the topics of idealization, stereotyping, and objectification in marketing have continued to be present in marketing since she began the series.
Danting is a health policy researcher at Columbia College and Mailman School of Public Health. The article analyses menstruation product advertising over the years, and surveys conducted to see how younger people are affected.
Jennifer Millard is from the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon. This records the reactions women had to Dove’s rebrand- illustrating how rebranding advertisements with the viewer in mind was received by the public. It introduces new vocabulary, along with describing the value of beauty and its biases in Western culture.
This is Miran Yang’s doctoral dissertation from Ohio State University. The article delves into how race plays into advertisement, and how comparison can lead to negative “appearance management behaviors”. Also introduces terms like social comparison theory and sociocultural theory.
1. "Self Esteem" AND "Advertising"
2. "Women" AND "Media"
3. "Diversity" OR "Representation" AND "Advertising"
4. "Sex Appeal" OR "Idealized Bodies" AND "Self Esteem"
5. "Comparison" AND "Insecurity" OR "Self Esteem"
6. "Social Comparison Theory" OR "Socialcultural Theory"
| All Content CC-BY. |
|
