Student Research Guide SPQ25/ Positive Impacts of Video Games on High School Education

• Michael S. Debus conducted his PhD research at the IT University of Copenhagen and has published papers about the ontology of navigation in videogames and metagames. This book compiles all of the author's works on the broad topic of mental health and video games. Topics like the representation of mental health and video game disorder are examples of what this book discusses.

• Sven Smith is an associate professor of sociology while Christopher J. Ferguson has a PhD in clinical psychology. This section in the encyclopedia goes over the many ways video games connect to adolescents, along with how organizations like the APA and parents react to them.

• Jeffrey Gottfried has a PhD in communications, and Olivia Sidoti is a research assistant at Pew Research Center. This article covers a survey they did on teenagers and their gaming habits. It mainly focuses on raw data and statistics, while offering graphs to visually show the data. This source is important in understanding how social players can be. 

• Horizon is a documentary series on the BBC. This source brings a lot of experts on such as Professor Daphne Bavelier to talk about their own and others’ studies. This source covers a wide range of topics from video game disorder, aggression, to positive impacts and practical uses. 

• George Imataka has a PHD in Neuropathology and is a professor at Dokkyo Medical University in Japan. This source explains what gaming disorder looks like and explores how it manifests in people. This source also covers the reaction in Japan to video game disorder, along with discussing how it should be treated. 

• The Cultural Studies of Science and Education is a multidisciplinary journal that examines science education. This article discusses how games can be used for educational purposes and also explores the obstacles that come with game-based learning. 

• Information is a scientific peer-reviewed journal that covers information science and technology. This article covers another aspect of online gambling called “gacha games.” This study aims to see if players who’ve played for a long time consistently are more likely to spend money on these types of games. 

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE DATABASE: Markey, Patrick M., et al. “Video Game Play: Myths and Benefits.” American Journal of Play, vol. 13, no. 1, Sept. 2020, pp. 87–106. EBSCOhost, https://researchebscocom.skagit.idm.oc lc.org/linkprocessor/plink?id=af230608-6349-3285-ab63-8a7d0b0efd6f.

• Two of the authors in this journal have PhDs. This debunks several myths about video games and concludes that video games are a good activity for kids in moderation. This source is also useful for understanding the various myths that surround video games and why they exist. 

• Both Kevin McCafree and K Ryan Proctor have a PhD, with focuses on criminology and more. This article talks about how video games are blamed for crime through aggression and how this common notion is wrong. The Routine Activities Theory is used to debunk this myth.

PROQUEST DATABASE: Urcid-Puga, Rodrigo, et al. "Do Video Games Enhance Competencies and Skills? A Study Case on Civil Engineering Students." European Conference on Games Based Learning Academic Conferences International Limited, 2024. ProQuest, https://skagit.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/conference-papers-proceedings/do-video-games-enhance-competencies-skills-study/docview/3160617425/se-2.

• Rodrigo Urcid-Puga is a professor in the Department of Media and Digital Culture at Tecnológico de Monterrey. This article introduces the concept of game-based learning and explores it through a study where students played Call of Duty: Modern Warfare ||.

E-BOOK: Wardyga, Brian J. The Video Games Textbook: History, Business, Technology. 2nd ed., eBook, CRC Press, 2023, https://sbctcskagit.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01STATEWA_SKAGIT/1k7g980/alma9910 00781580202822.

• Wardyga is a professor of Communication at the Lasell University. This textbook covers the history of video games including their development over the years alongside public opinion on them. 

GOOGLE SCHOLAR: Watson, William R., et al. "A Case Study of the In-Class Use of a Video Game for Teaching High School History.” Computers & Education, vol. 56, no. 2, 2011, pp. 466-74, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2010.09.007.

• William R. Watson has a PhD in Instructional Systems Technology and is a professor at Purdue University. This article follows a study where a teacher uses a video game for three days to teach students in his history class. The study noted that student engagement went up when they played the game, compared to a normal class with a lecture.