SVC Library: Antiracism Resources: Students &amp; Community: Research

Suggested SVC Library Databases

FOR RESEARCH:

Try a search with some of the subject terms from the list on this page to locate research materials in the SVC databases.

For access from off-campus, enter your MYSVC username and password

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features journals and magazines with a few newspapers. Like ProQuest there are full-text articles available for printing, copying, e-mailing, creating lists and with citation help. Login with full SVC email address and password.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information on hundreds of people from business, politics, art, science and more. Login with full SVC email address and password.
Credo Reference Database This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia source, including Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century. Good source for images and graphics. Log in from home using MYSVC login & password.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
In-depth investigations of today's top issues, featuring pro/con arguments. Primary source documents show up in search results if available. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Find documentaries on a topic or search for a clip on a topic. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering both U.S. and world history topics, featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents. Primary source documents available under advanced search, publication type. Log in with full MySVC email address and password.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full Text 1980 - present. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reports on controversial issues from a wide variety of subject areas. Excellent for any assignment where you have to research all sides of a current issue. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of magazine,newspaper and journal titles. Includes national newspapers like the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Log in with full SVC email address and password.

Click link for full list of SVC Databases A-Z

Selected Websites

American Civil Liberties Union The ACLU has evolved in the years since from a small group of idealists into the nation’s premier defender of the rights enshrined in the U.S. Constitution.
Being Antiracist To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives.
Black Lives Matter Founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer, Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
Center for Racial Justice in Education The Center for Racial Justice in Education’s mission is to train and empower educators to dismantle patterns of racism and injustice in schools and communities. The Center for Racial Justice in Education, envisions a world where all young people learn and thrive in racially equitable, liberating, and empowering educational spaces.
Colorlines Daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning in-depth reporting, news analysis, opinion and curation.
Inequality and Social Policy: Harvard Kennedy School Provides links to news, academic articles and books
NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) Founded in 1909 in response to the ongoing violence against Black people around the country, the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) is the largest and most pre-eminent civil rights organization in the nation.
The Radical Database List of links to a wide variety of resources from book lists, crowdfunding, and petitions, to mental health services and relief organizations
Resources for Talking about Race, Racism, and Racialized Violence with Children Provides interviews, lists, and articles
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem, one of The New York Public Library’s renowned research libraries, is a world-leading cultural institution devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Whites For Racial Equity A group begun by white people who are committed to dismantling racism, taking responsibility for learning about systemic racism, internalized racism, white privilege, and ways to challenge it.